Senior LPGA golfer Lee Ann Walker handed 58-shot penalty
After she had been hit by an astonishing 58-shot penalty following her second round, lee Ann Walker hit the headlines at the Senior LPGA Championship in Indiana.
Her opening 85 was corrected to some 127 while 16 shots were added to provide her a 36-hole score of 73 afterwards a 42-stroke penalty was lacked by her.
Walker dropped foul of the rule which bans caddies assisting their players with adapting, but officials at French Lick were not alerted to the violations until midway.
It transpired Walkers caddie helped her line and she incurred a two-shot penalty for every time she breached.
LPGA rules that a caddie for one of her partners had detected the breach of the principles on the second moment, also official Marty Robinson affirmed the severity of the penalties.
Walker consulted with a rules official on her hole of her round, and they collaborated to work out how many times shed employed her caddie to check her orientation.
This worked out at 21 violations within her first round, and a further eight occasions over the first couple of pockets of her second round.
Walkers 13-over opening round was shifted to a 55-over 127 which featured five nines at a par-three on her card.
Read more here: http://nantlab.com
You can adjust all of your cookie settings by navigating the tabs on the left hand side.